Corridors
Dar es Salaam to Lusaka corridor
Short answer
- Railway
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority (TAZARA) 3
- Owners
- Governments of Tanzania and Zambia, equal shares 3
- Rail length
- 1,860 km 2
- Full operations
- 14 July 1976 2
- Design capacity
- 5 million tonnes of freight a year 1
- Concession
- CCECC, signed September 2025, US$1.4 billion 5
- Road route listed by EAC
- Morogoro, Iringa, Mbeya, Tunduma, 1,100 km 6
- Border post
- Tunduma/Nakonde One Stop Border Post 4
- Status
- Operating, Mukuba cross-border passenger service cancelled after a 19 October 2026 accident 7
The TAZARA railway
An agreement for the railway was signed in Beijing on 5 September 1967. China gave an interest-free loan of Yuan 988 million, repayable in thirty years 2. Construction began in October 1970 and the line reached Kapiri Mposhi by June 1975. Full operations began on 14 July 1976 after China handed the railway to Tanzania and Zambia 2.
A bilateral agreement dated 29 September 1993 is the base of the authority. The TAZARA Act of 1975, amended in 1995, governs it in both countries 3.
Through trains carry cargo between Dar es Salaam and New Kapiri Mposhi in both directions 1. The 1067mm gauge allows through traffic with other Southern African railways, including SNCC of the DRC. Cargo terminals with gantry cranes operate at New Kapiri Mposhi, Kasama, Makambako and Dar es Salaam 1. A privately owned facility at Kidatu moves cargo between TAZARA wagons and the 1000mm wagons of Tanzania Railways 1.
The 2025 concession and recovery plan
The TAZARA Board met on 12 October 2026 and issued a communiqué on 13 October 2026. It reviewed progress by China Civil Engineering Construction Corporation under the concession signed in September 2025, which provides for US$1.4 billion in revitalisation investment 5.
The Board approved a five-year plan for 2026/2027 to 2030/2031. It projects freight rising from 110,000 tonnes in 2026/2027 to 1.8 million tonnes in 2030/2031 5. Government subventions of US$62.04 million cover the first three years and concessionaire financing of US$36 million covers the last two 5.
The 2026/2027 budget is US$39.92 million in income and spending. Targets are 110,000 tonnes of freight and 225,543 passengers 5. Daily News reported that revitalisation works moved forward in July 2026, with construction of an operations control centre and a training centre in Dar es Salaam 8.
Road route and the border
The EAC lists a Dar es Salaam (TAZARA) road corridor through Morogoro, Iringa, Mbeya and Tunduma, with a length of 1,100 km 6.
The Tanzania Revenue Authority lists Tunduma/Nakonde as the working one stop border post with Zambia. Tanzanian border posts use the juxtaposed model 4.
Transit volumes
Press reports use different periods. They are shown side by side 9,8.
| Measure | Period as stated | Figure |
|---|---|---|
| Zambia transit cargo, Dar es Salaam and Tanga 9 | 2025, year type not stated 9 | 3.5 million tonnes 9 |
| Zambia transit cargo, Dar es Salaam 8 | Financial year 2025/26 8 | 3.41 million tonnes 8 |
| Malawi transit cargo 9 | 2025, year type not stated 9 | 719,838 tonnes 9 |
| TAZARA freight target 5 | 2026/2027 5 | 110,000 tonnes 5 |
Regional agreements
Zambia and Malawi joined the Central Corridor Transit Transport Facilitation Agreement by an amendment of 1 December 2023 10. The Guardian described Zambia as the second largest user of Tanzanian ports for transit cargo in 2025 9. Daily News noted a decline in Zambia's share in the 2025/26 financial year 8.
Common questions
How long is the TAZARA railway?
1,860 km from Dar es Salaam to Kapiri Mposhi, according to TAZARA 2.
Who owns TAZARA?
The governments of Tanzania and Zambia hold its shares jointly and equally 3.
Which border post do trucks use between Tanzania and Zambia?
Tunduma/Nakonde One Stop Border Post 4.
Who runs the TAZARA concession?
China Civil Engineering Construction Corporation, under a concession signed in September 2025 5.
Is the TAZARA passenger train running?
The Mukuba cross-border service was cancelled after an accident on 19 October 2026, with temporary local trains, according to a TAZARA notice 7.
Rules and charges change. Check the official source linked on this page before you pay or travel. Spotted an error? Email [email protected].
Sources
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority: Freight Services (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority: Our History (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority: About us (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Tanzania Revenue Authority: One Stop Border Post (OSBP) (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority: TAZARA Board reviews revitalisation and approves plan for operational recovery (13 October 2026)
- East African Community: Road Transport in East Africa (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Tanzania-Zambia Railway Authority: home page and notice on cancellation of Mukuba cross-border service (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Daily News: Dar es Salaam transit cargo rises 17% as corridor competition shifts (2 October 2026)
- The Guardian (IPP Media), Guardian Correspondent: DRC top transit cargo market after 73pc increase in tonnage (7 July 2026)
- Central Corridor Transit Transport Facilitation Agency: Overview (10 October 2024)
Related
- Central Corridor: Dar es Salaam to the Great Lakes
The Central Corridor links Dar es Salaam port to Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, eastern DRC, Malawi and Zambia. Agreement, routes, border posts and volumes.
- Northern Corridor: Mombasa to the Great Lakes
The Northern Corridor links Mombasa port to Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan and eastern DRC. Agreement, routes, rail, port and tracking facts.
- One-stop border posts in East Africa
The 15 border pairs named in the EAC One Stop Border Posts Act, how a one-stop crossing works, and dated facts on Rusumo, Namanga, Kobero and Nimule.
- Transit bonds and the RCTG regional guarantee
How customs transit bonds work in East Africa, the COMESA RCTG Carnet that replaces national bonds, which states take part and what the EAC law says.
- Tanzania customs and trade systems
Tanzania's TANCIS customs system, the TeSWS single window, the GePG payment gateway, cargo tracking, agent licences, border posts and audit findings.