East Africa Trade Systems

Systems compared

Clearing agent licensing rules compared

Last checked 24 October 2026 · 6 sources

Short answer

Customs clearing agents in EAC states are licensed by each country's Commissioner of Customs under section 145 of the EAC Customs Management Act, 2004 1,3. The undated EAC page, KRA and URA say licences expire on 31 December each year 2,3 5. TRA says its licences last twelve months from issue 6. Kenya charges new applicants a USD 50 application fee 4. TRA charges US$50 to apply and US$400 for the licence, and new agents execute a TZS 100,000,000 customs bond 6.
Regional law
EAC Customs Management Act, 2004, Part XI, sections 145 to 148 1
Regulations cited
EAC Customs Management Regulations, 2010, regulations 149 to 152 3
Who licenses
The Commissioner of Customs of each Partner State 1,5
Owner's authority
Written authority from the goods owner 2,5
Kenya 2027 deadline
Renewals on or before 31 October 2026, through iCMS 3
Tanzania licence fee
US$400 plus a US$50 application fee 6
Fees on the EAC page
US$10 application fee and US$400 annual licence fee, undated page read 24 October 2026 2
Licence period
Calendar year to 31 December per EAC, KRA and URA. Twelve months from issue per TRA 2,3 5,6
Unlicensed agents
An offence under regulation 152, per URA 5

The shared EAC rules

Part XI of the EAC Customs Management Act covers customs agents. Section 145 deals with licensing of agents, section 146 with their authority, section 147 with the liability of a duly authorised agent, and section 148 with the owner's liability for the agent's acts 1.

The EAC customs agent page says applicants must be registered, know customs clearance and have an office with equipment such as computers. Applications are made on Form C24 2. It says a licence is not issued or renewed where the applicant has a criminal record or has been involved in dishonest activities 2. It gives a US$10 application fee and a US$400 annual licence fee, and says licences run for a calendar year to 31 December 2. Renewal needs the Commissioner's approval 2.

The same page says the owner of the goods must authorise the agent in writing, and the owner and the agent can both be prosecuted for unlawful acts the agent commits for the owner. It says using an agent is compulsory in some Partner States 2.

Country rules side by side

The table lines up what each revenue authority states on its own pages. KRA's notice of 23 September 2025 and the TRA page read on 24 October 2026 give a US$50 application fee. The undated EAC page, read the same day, gives US$10 2,4 6. On validity, the EAC, KRA and URA pages give 31 December, and TRA gives twelve months from issue 2,3 5,6.

ItemKenya (KRA)Uganda (URA)Tanzania (TRA)
Law cited 3,5 6Section 145 EACCMA and regulations 149 to 152 EACCMR 2010 3Section 145(1) EACCMA and regulation 152 EACCMR 5EACCMA, written as 2023 on the TRA page, and EACCMR 2010 6
Validity 3,5 6Expires 31 December. Three-year AEO licences excluded 3One year, expires 31 December 5Twelve months from issue 6
Application fee 4,6USD 50 for new applicants 4Not stated on the page read 5US$50, non-refundable 6
Licence fee 6Not stated on the notices read 3,4Not stated on the page read 5US$400 after passing the interview 6
Bond 3,6Certificate of Bond and Debt clearance required for renewal 3Not stated on the page read 5TZS 100,000,000 for new agents 6
Portal 3,6iCMS, icms.kra.go.ke 3Not stated on the page read 5TANCIS 6
Industry clearance 3KIFWA clearance certificate for the year 3Not stated on the page read 5Not stated on the page read 6

Kenya

KRA's notice of 21 September 2026 says customs agent licences expire on 31 December 2026 and invites renewals on or before 31 October 2026 through the Integrated Customs Management System 3. Renewing agents send Form C20, a 2026 certificate of registration, a tax compliance certificate, a Certificate of Bond and Debt clearance, the previous C21 licence and a KIFWA clearance certificate 3.

KRA's notice for 2026 licences, listed on 23 September 2025, asked new applicants to apply by email with 16 documents, including police clearance for all directors and three years of audited accounts where applicable. It set a USD 50 application fee 4.

Uganda

URA says a licence is a legal requirement under section 145(1) and that operating as a customs agent without one is a punishable offence under regulation 152 5. It says declaring or clearing goods or baggage needs a clearing agent, with an exception for accompanied, non-manifested personal baggage of travellers arriving by air or land 5. URA says agents are personally liable for their acts and for taxes due from goods owners 5.

Tanzania

TRA shortlists applicants through TANCIS and a public notice for a written interview. The interviewee must be a director or permanent staff member holding the East African Customs Clearing and Freight Forwarding Practicing Certificate 6. A company that passes pays US$400 and new applicants execute a customs bond of Tshs 100,000,000 6. TRA's page cites a 2023 Act for the validity rule. The EAC text carries the short title East African Community Customs Management Act, 2004 1,6.

Countries not covered yet

This page does not yet compare Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, eastern DRC or Somalia. Their licensing pages were not opened for this guide. The EAC page says agent use is compulsory in some Partner States 2.

Common questions

Can one clearing agent licence be used in every EAC country?

No source opened for this page says so. Each Commissioner licenses agents under section 145 1, and Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania each run their own licensing 3,5 6.

When do customs agent licences expire in Kenya?

On 31 December each year. For 2027 licences KRA asked for renewals by 31 October 2026 3.

How much is a clearing and forwarding licence in Tanzania?

TRA charges a US$50 application fee and a US$400 licence fee. New agents execute a customs bond of Tshs 100,000,000 6.

Do I need a clearing agent to import goods into Uganda?

URA says declaring or clearing goods or baggage requires a clearing agent, with an exception for accompanied, non-manifested personal baggage of travellers 5.

Rules and charges change. Check the official source linked on this page before you pay or travel. Spotted an error? Email [email protected].

Sources

  1. Government Printer Nairobi: The East African Community Customs Management Act, 2004, Revised Edition 2009 (amendments to 8 December 2008)
  2. East African Community: Customs Agent (accessed 24 October 2026)
  3. Kenya Revenue Authority: Application for Renewal of Customs Agents Licences 2027 (21 September 2026)
  4. Kenya Revenue Authority: Applications for Renewal of Customs Agents Licences 2026 (listed 23 September 2025)
  5. Uganda Revenue Authority: Why is it necessary to obtain a customs agents' license? Justification? Why renewal? (undated)
  6. Tanzania Revenue Authority: Customs Licenses (accessed 24 October 2026)

Related